(Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar,
Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor Leste, Vietnam)

Southeast Asia lies north of Australia, south of East Asia, west of the Pacific Ocean, and east of the Bay of Bengal. It encompasses several island nations and archipelagos that straddle the northern and southern hemispheres, making it the only Asian region located on either side of the equator. Southeast Asia is politically divided into 11 countries: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor Leste, and Vietnam. The geography of Southeast Asia is characterized by having a large number of archipelagos. The Indonesian archipelago is the largest in the world and is home to the largest number of active volcanoes in the world. The region’s importance in world trade began during the spice trade, which began before European exploration. Today, the economy of Southeast Asia is developing rapidly. Indonesia is considered the largest economy in the region and is the only member of the G20 from Southeast Asia.

Map of Southeast Asia in Globe


south east asia

I did my first backpacking trip to Southeast Asia in 2019. My boyfriend and I flew from Bangkok to Malaysia and spent a month relaxing on our way to Singapore. After this we went to Bali, headed to Jakarta by bus and train. We flew to Brunei, visited Sarawak and Sabah. From there we travel through Laos, Northern Thailand and came back down to Bangkok. Finalizing our trip flying to New Zealand for our next adventure.


hong kong